top of page

Lists

As I sit here this morning, knowing this is my only time to squeeze in some writing today, I feel pressure building. The kids have a ½ day of school and need to be picked up at 10:30 (which I still think is more like a ¼ day, let’s be real here). The house needs to be cleaned, top to bottom, for the family we have coming this long weekend for a visit. Food shopping is a must if we want to eat anything besides oatmeal and cans of pumpkin, the dog has to be walked and played with if we don’t want him to be berserk tonight, and a shower would seriously do me some good.

And this is where I could so easily flake out.

Facebook, other blogs, tv, books, MY PHONE, all start calling my name. Oh, and then there is Pintrest. Wow. The ideal place to pass my precious minutes away dreaming of my “someday” kitchen and the meals I should really be making this weekend but, honestly, just don’t want to.

I refuse to get sucked in today people!!!! I am taking a flippin stand against my pestering procrastination.

I’m calling bullshit!

Day 10 of this 31 day challenge is simply a To Do List. I promise to be as authentic and realistic as possible here. This is our day people. We get to co-create something awesome, right?

Off the phone, into our life, let’s do this!

This is the crapola hanging over my head. This is what I will use to beat myself up today as a just not good “enough” human if they don’t get conquered. What?!

To Do List

  • Take the dog for a walk

  • Take a shower

  • Make the beds

  • Vacuum

  • Clean bathrooms

  • Dust

  • Wash kitchen floors

  • Get guest beds ready

  • Plan meals

  • Pick up girls and take to party city to check out Halloween costumes

  • Hit Wegmans

  • Put groceries away

  • Have girls clean playroom

  • Hang over them until they do

  • Prep meals for next 3 days.

  • Make dinner

  • Get soccer gear ready for tomorrow

  • Answer all emails

  • Plan weekend blogs

  • Get working on new budget

  • Get kids bathed

  • Do all laundry

  • Put, together with my oh so eager to help girls, said laundry away (worst chore ever)

  • Watch the shows I have recorded

  • Read a chapter in my latest book that is taking me forever and a day to read

Now for what would not typically make it on the list but I would try to squeeze in. Something is off, no?

Gut Stirs and Heart Pulls

  • Praying/meditation, actually creating space for listening

  • Taking action on what I heard

  • Calling my family

  • Being present for my friends when they need me

  • Being actively grateful

  • Practicing generosity in all forms that may take today

  • Making sure I send my husband a text letting him know, that even after the petty argument we may have had this morning, I love him and can’t wait to see him tonight

  • Looking each of my girls in the eye and telling them I love them

  • Kissing their foreheads

  • Asking my girls how their day was, really listening and taking part in the conversation

  • Taking the dog for a long walk that will get him energy out and get me the fresh air and movement I crave

  • Getting on my yoga mat

  • Researching something online that I am getting one of those gut stirrings to find out more about

  • LOVING

When I go to bed tonight I want to know that I loved my hardest today. Hands down.

None of this ½ awake (or more like ¼ awake) to my heart while buried in my phone or Pintrest stressing about what “HAS TO” get done today.

The To Do List, I will prioritize. I will ask for help. I will do my best. It's true these things are real. Sometimes these are the ways I love my peeps. Sometimes I am proud of how well I can conquer a list like this.

But The Gut Stirs and Heart Pulls, this is the real deal. This is where my heart is.

I know I am not alone. I bet most of you reading this could come up with your own two lists. The idea of what to attack first, both being important in their own right, is confusing and can produce it’s own kind of stress if we let it.

This is what I propose.

Go for the guts stirs and heart pulls. I know, our first reaction is “BUT….the To Do HAVE TO get done. Ignoring them is as bad as playing on my phone or hanging on Pintrest. If I don't do them, they won’t get done.” Am I right?

The magic is, once you follow those heart pulls and gut stirs, your time will expand. I swear! This is not even woo woo. It's truth. You will feel a peace and you will be energized. We will be given all we need today if we ask. It is that simple.

What gets done gets done.

How did you love?

I may not complete 100% of my List of Chores today. There maybe more left over for tomorrow. My family visitors are really not going to shun me if they don’t have mints of their pillows or my kitchen floor is not clean enough to eat off of. They love me anyway.

It always comes back to love.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page